Crybaby, Crybaby!

I don’t know what the heck’s going on with me, but lately I’ve been such a crybaby when it comes to movies and shows.  It wasn’t too long ago when I could watch the most tragic, gut-wrenching death scene and not even feel the slightest urge to cry.

And I’m talking “the works” as far as fake deaths go!  Melancholy music with an atmosphere that oozes unspoken emotions of anguish and sorrow.  Actors brilliantly and realistically betraying the pain of losing their loved one(s).  And all this while in a theater full of men and women struggling to hold in their sobs balling next to me.

I used to think that everyone was just being babies, but now, I’m the one always pulling out a tissue.  Just last night, I cried watching Vampire Diaries [SPOILER ALERT] because Alana’s brother, Jeremy, died and he was the last of her surviving family (they all died pretty tragically too).  She was in denial the whole episode until the very end when she broke down.

This is not from that scene, but you get the picture.
This is not from that scene, but you get the picture.

Now, I’ve been watching this show since Season 1 and ALOT of people have died.  Why the heck am I crying now?!  I didn’t hate Jeremy, but I didn’t have any strong connections to his character either.

I mean, aren’t we supposed to be getting more and more desensitized with age instead of the other way around (as bad as that may sound)!  The actors in this teenage soap opera don’t even come close to the A-listers who can “brilliantly and realistically betray” sadness during a death scene.

Anyway, after boo-who’ing over that, I thought I’d cheer myself up with some anime.  I got onto animeseason.com and clicked on a random series called Kotoura-san.  On the synopsis, it said that it was a high school romance, comedy.

Look how deceiving this picture is!
Look how deceiving this picture is!

Somehow they forgot to mention that the first episode was a freaking tear-jerker.  [SPOILER ALERT AGAIN] What kind of romance, comedy starts off with the main character as a child being abandoned and called a monster by her parents, friends, classmates, just everyone!  Why?  Because she had ESP and could read their thoughts.

She was like five and everyone was treating her like crap…

I really lost it when she made a friend with a kitten that had been abandoned in a box.  That kitten was the last bit of hope she had at not being alone or judged.  Then she came to visit it one day just to find it gone with a women telling her that she got rid of it and to never come back again.

I was expecting a light, goofy, cliche romance, comedy.  But all I got was heartbreak as I watched this animated girl go through life alone and treated like a freak.

After going to sleep upset, I woke up thinking, “Since when do I cry watching an anime of all things.  PATHETIC!  GET IT TOGETHER WOMAN!”

So yeah, I don’t know why I’ve became such a crybaby as of late, but I’m not liking it at all!

Click here for the link to the first episode of Kotoura-san, if you’re interested to see why I was being such a little baby.

*Images from Google & Anime Season

3 thoughts on “Crybaby, Crybaby!

    1. When Matt walked in I lost it too and when Alana was trying to burn the house down before she “turned off” her emotions.

      And thank you so much!!! 🙂 I’m not really sure how the awards work though. Do I do the same thing you did on your post? I’m such a newbie when it comes to some of these things haha.

Leave a Reply

