Hyperarousal

Butterflies stirring,

Their delicate wings

Lightly brushing

Against the lining of my belly.

 –

Anxiety,

Fear,

Making them flutter to life,

Out of their dormancy.

 –

The pounding

Of my heart,

The vigorous vibrations and sounds,

Aid in

Awakening the butterflies.

 –

Love,

More of a sickness

Than a fight or flight reaction,

Causes them to swarm.

 –

Sometimes I wish I had more control-

Of the butterflies…

butterflies

This is among the many poems I wrote in my Creative Writing class during my senior year of College.  I really miss that class!

Leave a Reply

