The Sadness the End of a Good Book Brings

Eyes tired.

Butt numb.

Body feeling lazy with its lack of use (besides moving to eat one meal, hastily gobbled down, and the couple of bathroom trips taken after so much time holding it in).

Annoyance at a journey left unfinished with the words, “to be continued,” lingering behind, leaving a bad taste that can only be shaken once the journey resumes.

All that is left is sadness as the realization hit that the book was over.  I’ve never been one to savor things.  I’m way too impatience for that.  So, over the last few days, I’ve been a hermit, locked away in my room in the basement and becoming angered by anything or anyone who forced me to stir from my comfortable spot in bed.

Instead of trying to prolong the feeling of adventure that came with reading, I kept at it, engrossed with the never-ending secrets that I was anxious to reveal.  My Kindle taunted me as it showed the percentage of the story I had left to read.  One second I was only 30% through with the book, the next it was 60% then 80%, making me anxious as more happened and less got resolved.

I was glad to be reading a series when my first book ended, but sad when I finished my second and realized that it was a series unfinished.  The sadness only deepened when I looked on Amazon and saw that the second one had just recently come out.

At that moment, my irrational annoyance turned to the author, Laini Taylor.

“Great,” I thought, “Now I’ll have to wait half a year to figure out what’ll happen next.”

She was definitely an expert at keeping her readers in suspense, both during the book and by the end when those hateful three words laughed at me on the last page.  Throughout the two books I read, Daughter of Smoke & Bone and Days of Blood & Starlight, I kept thinking that I knew all the character’s secrets, just to be slapped with more and more that kept me reading on.  Every once in a while I could put the puzzle together before it was revealed by the characters, but most of the time I was left screaming in my head, “Just tell me!”

I have to say, when I really sit down and think about the second book in particular, nothing entirely substantial happened in those 528 pages (Jeeze! With my kindle, I had no idea it was that many pages.  It felt like the book was shorter).  But, I have to commend this author for being able to focus on the smaller details for an entire book without having it be boring.

Sometimes, when authors do this, you’re left feeling like there was no payoff when the book ends.  You feel cheated, like the author purposely prolonged things in order to make the series longer and cash in (though I wonder how much even the most popular authors make from book sales).  I didn’t feel that way with this book.

In fact, I can commend this author in a couple of other ways as well.  For one, I was impressed with the way she switched between characters throughout the two books.  It can be hard to change points of view and have everything flow together perfectly, especially considering that she did it with several different characters, some more than others.  Taylor also did well with making the world she created believable.  It was obvious that she thought things through when she constructed it, instead of flimsily trying to come up with ideas as she wrote in order to explain things that would otherwise not make sense.  Everything was well planned out and coherent.

As I sit here, not entirely knowing what to do with myself now that I’ve come back from another world, I can only hope that I will one day have the same affect on someone else.  Maybe one day I could have the book that has someone locked away in their room, refusing to leave until they were done.

As someone who’s wanted to be an author since elementary school (when I wrote my “book,” The Adventures of Marco & Polo), it’s a dream that’s more important than actually getting published.  Technically, anyone can publish a book (I have a friend who self-published her book).  But it’s another thing to have people lose sleep over it as the plot thickens or spare time to write an in-depth review to convince others to read it.

Just like any form of art, an author’s work is their baby and there’s a feeling of pride when your baby’s doing well.

5 thoughts on “The Sadness the End of a Good Book Brings

Leave a Reply

