An “Even I Can Do It” Recipe: Chicken Stroganoff

Chicken Stroganoff

I have to admit, I’m not really that much of a cook.  In fact, I try to avoid it at all costs.  But now that I’ve gotten to the age where my mom refuses to cook for me (I completely understand this, but that doesn’t mean I like it), I am forced to try some new recipes.  The alternative would be getting fat off fast food.

Anyway, this is a really easy crockpot recipe and the ingredients shouldn’t cost you any more than $20.

So, here’s what you’ll need:

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves-cubed (I only use 3 since they usually come in a 3 pack)
  • 1/8 cup margarine (that’s 2 tbsp; thought I’d help you out since most bars of margarine are measured by tablespoons)
  • 1 (.7 ounce) package dry Italian-style salad dressing mix
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
  • 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of chicken soup

Directions

  1. Put the chicken, margarine and dressing mix in the slow cooker; mix together and cook on low for 5 to 6 hours.
  2. Add cream cheese and soup, mix together and cook on high for another 1/2 hour or until heated through and warm.

    Okay, so it looks like something radioactive here, but I promise it tastes delicious 🙂

Woot! That’s it!  Two directions, that’s my kind of recipe!

And ta-da!  Here’s the finished result!

I put it over some farfalle (aka “bow-tie pasta”) and made a spinach, tomato, and shredded cheese salad topped with ranch dressing.  It was quite delicious, if I do say so myself.

Recipe found here: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/slow-cooker-chicken-stroganoff/

Leave a Reply

