Was There Ever A “Before Google”?

Today, I went on Google and saw one of their special animated logos.  This one was for their 14th birthday!  The first thing I thought was, “Wow, Google’s only been around for 14 years?  It feels like much longer.”  But, now that I think about it, I only really started using it in high school (about 8 years ago).  Since then, Google has become a sort of necessity in my life.  For any information I need, all I have to do is “Google it” and poof, it’s right in front of me like magic.

Have you ever thought about how amazing these search engines are?  In seconds thousands of pages are compiled about the subject you typed in.  Real quick, go to Google, type something in, then look under the search bar to see how many results were compiled in a matter of seconds.  I randomly typed in “fast food” and it said, “About 899,000,000 results (0.31 seconds).”

Sorry if I sound like a caveman, marveling in the wonders of the Internet as if I just discovered fire.  I just feel like we never stop and appreciate or consider these types of things.  We simply see them for what they are without much thought.

All of us 90’s babies have seen so much of a progression when technology is concerned and in such a short period of time.  I’m only 21 and I’ve seen cassettes turn to CD’s and CD’s to mp3’s.  I’ve seen people with beepers then cell phones that have become the smartphones we have today.

I remember using my dad’s Windows 95, desktop computer to go on AOL.  It would make all kinds of noises trying to connect to the Internet, then someone would pick up the house phone and mess up the connection (I hated that!).  Now, it’s wireless and connects in a few seconds.  It’s no longer restricted to your home; now it’s portable.

It’s strange to think about how we lived without things like search engines.  Can you remember the last time you opened up a dictionary to define a word or cracked open the Yellow Pages to get the number for a local pizza place?  It all seems like ancient history.
Maybe one day we’ll say the same about cars and airplanes when we’re teleporting from place to place…

Leave a Reply

