So Their Political Preference Determines If You’re A Fan? Why? [Nicki Minaj]

One of Nicki Minaj’s lines, in Lil Wayne’s “Mercy (Freestyle),” has created a lot of controversy among both fans and those who were just waiting for another excuse to hate her.  In the line, she says, “I’m a Republican voting for Mitt Romney, you lazy b—-es is f—ing up the economy.”  Though she has yet to fully explain the lyrics, when the president addressed it with indifference she responded with these two tweets:

Now, I’m going to start out by saying that I’m not a fan of Nicki Minaj.  I don’t like her music.  I think her fame is an insult to the female rappers who came before her.  There aren’t too many out there and I feel like she makes it a joke.  I don’t like all the EXTRA stuff she does either, especially when it comes to the way she delivers her lyrics (it sounds like she has Tourette Synodrome or something).  Oh, I can go on and on.

With all that said, I think it’s ridiculous for people who actually like the artist to abandon her based on her political preference.  I’m saying this with the assumption that these lyrics reflect who she plans to vote for.  Why does that matter if you like her music?  It’s not affecting the merchandise you’re buying.

It’s just like the whole Chick-fil-A thing, when they said they were against gay marriage.  Duh, they’re against it!  They’re a corporation based on strong Christian beliefs that goes far enough to have them closed on Sundays.  It’s not right to make assumptions, but I think their beliefs were pretty obvious.  I may not agree with them, but it won’t stop me from eating their food.  Everyone is entitled to their own opinions and if we keep getting hung up on these things we’ll be creating more separation among ourselves.  It’s hypercritical to say that you want people to respect your desire to get married to your partner, then bash the opposing side for their opinions.  There shouldn’t be consequences for having a certain belief.

The same goes for Nicki Minaj.  Her consequence for implying she’s a Republican and stating her opinions about Democrats is surely a loss in her fanbase and riling up people who were otherwise indifferent of her as an artist.  Why so angry?  Did people just assume she was a Democrat (which seems to be the assumption about most Black people in general)?  Are they upset because they can’t identify with her anymore?  I just have so many questions!  I wish I could ask one of the upset fans why this makes a difference.  I honestly don’t think that line in the song will get Romney more votes.  She’s not exactly someone to look up to when politics are concerned.

In a way, I do understand that people don’t like to support someone who is against something/someone they believe in.  But that kind of thinking will ultimately be our downfall if we truly want to be united.

Leave a Reply

